steampunk heart

Israel: All travelers entering Israel must isolate

From next Friday, July 16, the isolation rules for people entering Israel will be tightened.

All travelers entering Israel from overseas will be required to self-isolate until they receive the results of the coronavirus test accrued out at Ben Gurion Airport or at land border crossings.

Results are supposed to be available within 24 hours of a test being carried out.

The obligation to self-isolate includes those who have been vaccinated or who have recovered from the disease.

In addition, anyone (of any age, and including people who have been vaccinated or who have had COVID-19 and recovered) entering Israel from countries for which there is a severe travel warning from the Ministry of Health will be required to self-isolate, as is the case for travelers entering from countries to which maximum level travel warnings apply.

The difference is that people traveling to a severe warning country do not need a permit to exit Israel, whereas for countries with a maximum level travel warning a permit must be obtained from an exemptions committee before departure.

Anyone who travels to such a country (even on a connecting flight) without a permit can be fined NIS 5,000 [$ 1524].

The countries under severe travel warning are: the United Arab Emirates, the Seychelles, , Ecuador, Bolivia, Guatemala, Honduras, Paraguay, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Namibia, Tunisia, , and Kyrgyzstan,.

The countries designated as maximum risk are Russia, Mexico, India, South Africa, Brazil, and Argentina. From July 12 the list will also include Uzbekistan and Belarus.

Source: Globes