Russian diplomat laces into West’s flawed Arctic policy

The current politicized line of the West in the Arctic is flawed and does not contribute to solving humanity’s problems, Russian Foreign Ministry Spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said in a statement released on Friday.

The diplomat put the spotlight on the joint statement published on June 8 by the Arctic Council’s Western members that seek to resume the organization’s activities, but on projects where Russia would not participate.

“It is obvious that the West’s current politicized line on the Arctic is flawed and does not contribute to solving problems that affect the fate of all mankind,” the commentary said.

At the same time, Zakharova noted that attempts to isolate Russia in the Arctic are misleading.

  • “Earlier, as you know, the Westerners decided to freeze their participation in the Arctic Council. Their decisions are chaotic, which can only attest to one thing: attempts to isolate Russia in the Arctic are illusory, and Western partners are trying to grasp at any idea to create the impression of some independent role in Arctic affairs,” she added.

As the Russian Foreign Ministry Spokeswoman emphasized, Moscow keeps on carrying out its projects in the Arctic.

“Russia, for its part, as the unconditional main factor in the Arctic and the current chair of the Arctic Council, consistently continues to implement projects initiated by our country with a focus on the Russian regions, designed to promote sustainable socio-economic development of our Arctic zone, improve the well-being of all its residents, including indigenous peoples, cooperation to preserve the unique Arctic ecosystems that affect the health of our planet, ensure the interests and rights of indigenous peoples of the Arctic, promote contacts among the youth, foster cultural ties and form the humanitarian space of the Polar region,” the diplomat summarized.

Arctic Council’s current situation

Earlier on Wednesday, Denmark, Canada, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden and the United States decided to resume the Arctic Council’s work, but without Moscow’s participation.

  • A joint statement to this effect was published on the websites of their diplomatic agencies. On March 3, all Arctic Council countries, except Russia, issued a written statement in which they refused to take part in meetings chaired by Russia and on its territory because of the situation around Ukraine.

The Arctic Council is an intergovernmental organization of the Arctic states. Its members are Denmark (together with Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Canada, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States. In 2021, when the association celebrated its 25th anniversary, the two-year presidency was handed over from Iceland to Russia.

Source: TASS

Published by