Search and Hit Enter

Russian ice hockey team beats Czech team to grab Euro Hockey Tour trophy

Russia’s national ice hockey team has defeated the Czech team 7:4 in a Sweden Hockey Games match, the third stage of the Euro Hockey Tour, to win the Tour.

The match was played in Sweden’s Malmo on Sunday without spectators.

The goals were scored by Zakhar Bardakov (8th minute), Pavel Kraskovsky (38th minute), Nikolai Kovalenko (49th minute), Daniil Misyul (53rd minute), Vasily Podkolzin (55th minute), Vladimir Butuzov (58th minute), and Nikita Chibrikov (58th minute) for Russia, and Michael Spacek (17th minute), Jakub Flek (30th minute), Lukas Klok (31st minute), and David Tomasek (60th minute, penalty shot) for the Czech Republic.

Russia’s team has won all the three matches of the Euro Hockey Tour’s third stage to score eight points. It is followed by Sweden (three points). Next are Finland (two points) and the Czech Republic (two points). The third stage final match will be played between Sweden and Finland later on Sunday.

In the overall standing, team Russia enjoys unsurmountable lead, with 24 points after nine matches. It won all the three stages of the current Euro Hockey Tour, namely the Karjala Tournament in Finland, the Channel One Cup in Russia, and the Sweden Hockey Games. The Czech team is second, with ten points. Sweden is third (eight points) and Finland is fourth (eight points). The last stage of the tournament, the Czech Hockey Games, will be held in the Czech Republic on May 13 through 16.

Euro Hockey Tour has been held in its current format annually since 1996. Each of its permanent participants, Russia, Finland, the Czech Republic, and Sweden, organize one stage. Overall, Russia won nine such tournaments (in 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2017, 2019, and 2021). Finland also can boast nine wins. Sweden won the event four times and the Czech Republic – two times.

Source: TASS